NAAB Accreditation

Statement on NAAB-Accredited Degrees

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Carnegie Mellon Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited programs:

  • Bachelor of Architecture (450 units)
  • Master of Architecture (Pre-professional degree or equivalent + 180 units)

The next NAAB accreditation visit for the Bachelor of Architecture is scheduled for 2026. 

The next NAAB accreditation visit for the Master of Architecture is scheduled for 2030.

Accreditation Reports and Related Documents

M.Arch Reports and Documents

B.Arch Reports and Documents

Career Development Information

ARE pass rates are available at the website of the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB). To view the school’s most recent ARE pass rates, visit the ARE 5.0 Pass Rates by School section of the NCARB website. From the drop-down menu under state select "Pennsylvania" and under university name select "Carnegie Mellon University.”

Carnegie Mellon Architecture career development information available here.